5 rules for selecting and installing your child safety seat

Did you know at least 70 percent of car seats aren't properly installed?

That's why local organizations such as Safe Kids Greater Sacramento, are teaming up with the California Office of Traffic Safety, the California Department of Public Health, and the California Highway Patrol are encourage parents to get their seats checked out during National Child Passenger Safety Week.

This all leads to National Car Seat Check Saturday, which takes place on September 21, 2013. The inspections will offer parents the chance to receive assistance and guidance from certified car seat technicians, regarding the proper installation of their child safety and booster seats.

"Some parents will say to me, it's not convenient, or it takes a long time," says Jennifer Rubin, Safe Kids Greater Sacramento coordinator. "We say an injured child would not be convenient either. Some of those lengthy hospital stays or even fatalities that we have in car crashes happen across the state every day."

Head over to www.safekids.orgto locate the nearest inspection event happening in your community, or call your local CHP office.

In the mean time,the California Office of Traffic Safety has provided the following five tips on selectionand installationto keep children safe and secure in their seats:

  • Choose car seat based on child's age and size
  • Make sure the seat actually fits in your vehicle
  • Refer to specific car seat manufacturer's instructions when installing
  • Read the vehicle owner's manual on how to install the car seat
  • Check height and weight limits

California law requires that children be properly secured in the back seat in a child restraint system until they are at least eight years ago or 4'9" tall.

According to the California Office of Traffic Safety, a first car seat or seat belt violation for a child under age 16 will cost a minimum of $490 with penalty assessments. A second or subsequent offense carries a cost of $1,105. If the parent is not in the vehicle, the driver gets the ticket.

For more information on child passenger safety, go towww.ots.ca.gov and click the "Child Passenger Safety" button.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment