California large-capacity ammunition restrictions start July 1

Gun owners in California will face a new ammunition restriction starting July 1.

Gun owners in California will face a new ammunition restriction starting July 1. 

Lawmakers approved legislation last year which imposes fines, starting at $100 for the first offense, for people in possession of an ammunition magazine that exceeds 10 rounds. Those fines moves up to $250 for the second offense, and $500 for the third and subsequent offenses.

If you already possess a large-capacity magazine, you have to dispose of it before July 1 by any of the following means: 

  • Remove the large-capacity magazine from the state
  • Sell the large-capacity magazine to a licensed firearms dealer
  • Destroy the large-capacity magazine
  • Surrender the large-capacity magazine to a law enforcement agency for destruction

Honorably retired law enforcement officers are exempt from the new ammunition restrictions if they were authorized to carry a firearm for their duties. The large-capacity magazines are also legal for historical societies or museums to house, provided they are unloaded and properly housed within a secured premises. 

© 2017 KXTV-TV


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment