Uber can now track you five minutes after you've been dropped off

Uber is now tracking you after you close out the app.

The ride-sharing company collects location data from the time you request a trip through five minutes after the trip ends, even if the app is in the background.

This means, Uber will know where your location is even if you've been dropped off a distance from your final destination.

Uber said on their website, the changes are to "improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service and to enhance safety."

Before the new update, the company only collected data while a user was interacting with the app and while the app was in the foreground and visible.

After a user chooses to update the app, Uber asks the user to accept the new policy changes as the final step of the process.

The update isn't sitting well with the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC). The privacy advocate organization filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) last year after Uber announced the plan to change their privacy policy.

The FTC declined to block Uber from making the changes.

"With the policy update, they claimed the right to do this," said Claire Gartland, Director of EPIC Consumer Privacy Project. "Now they made it into effect."

Gartland said, when companies make major changes that are "really invasive", they'll always say it's a safety improvement.

"Uber should not be trusted," Gartland said.

Gartland said she couldn't comment on whether EPIC has any plans file another FTC complaint, but the organization has close eyes on Uber's moves.

"We'll be watching," Gartland said.

You can turn off location settings by going to your device settings:

On Android: Settings → Apps → Uber → scroll to “Permission” → toggle “Location”
 
On Android Lollipop (5.1) and earlier: Settings → Location → toggle Off
 
On iOS: Settings → Privacy → Location Services → Uber → choose “Never”

Copyright 2016 KXTV


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment