Weed, immigration and driving: Here are some new California laws to expect in 2018

The new year will usher in a slew of new laws in California. Here are three immigration-related laws that take effect Jan. 1, 2018.

The new year will usher in a slew of new laws in California. There's recreational marijuana, which will be legal in the new year. There's immigration laws that fight back against the Trump administration. And there's even new workplace laws — including a new minimum wage.

Here are a few new state laws that you should know going into 2018.

Immigration-related laws

California is a 'sanctuary state.': Under this law, state and local law enforcement agencies cannot use resources to detain someone on federal immigration laws. That means they can't inquire about someone's immigration status or detain someone on a hold request from U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement [ICE]. 

Landlords cannot report tenants to ICE: This separate law means landlords cannot report their tenant's immigration status to ICE. They also cannot use their tenant's immigration status to threaten to evict them.

Workplace immigration inspections will be limited: AB-450 bans employers from consenting to ICE workplace inspections without a warrant. Moreover, an employer has to let an employee know within 72 hours of receiving a federal inspection notice.

Marijuana-related laws

- Daily limits: You'll be able to buy up to 28.5 grams of non-concentrated cannabis (for example, cannabis flower or bud) and eight grams of concentrated cannabis (for example, honey oil or hash oil). 

- What about plants: There's also a daily limit of six live, immature cannabis plants. 

- Before buying: You have to be at least 21-years-old and possess a valid ID. Retailers are allowed to sell and deliver cannabis goods between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. 

Workplace-related laws

- $11/hr minimum wage: For employers with 26 or more employees, minimum wage will increase to $11 an hour. Employers with 25 or less employees will see minimum wage increase to $10.50 an hour. This is part of the gradual increase to $15 an hour minimum wage by 2022. 

- Parental leave: This law requires employers with 20 or more employees to provide up to 12 weeks of unpaid parental leave to eligible employees. Eligible employees are those with more than a year and at least 1,250 hours of service. Employees can use paid sick and vacation time during the leave. 

- Prior salary: This law bans employers from asking for an applicant's salary history. Employers also cannot use salary history as a factor in determining a job offer and what salary to offer that potential employee. Moreover, employers are required, upon request, to provide a pay scale to the applicant. 

Driving-related laws:

- Transportation improvement fee: As part of the new gas tax law, drivers will have to pay a transportation improvement fee along with their vehicle registration in 2018. Most drivers will pay $25 or $50 depending on the value of your vehicle. 

- Smoking while driving: Yes, recreational marijuana is legal come Jan. 1. But, using marijuana while driving — and even while riding as a passenger — is banned. 

- Parking at broken meters: This law prohibits local parking authorities from giving you a ticket if the parking meter — or the parking payment machine — is broken. Moreover, you can park at the broken meter with no time limit if there is no posted time limit. 

© 2018 KXTV-TV


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment