Today's Why Guy question comes to us anonymously through ABC10's social media: "Why are people that obviously live and work in California, allowed to keep their out of state plates? Isn't California losing money by allowing this to happen?"
We also got a similar question from Sunshine who asked via text message, "Why does the city of Lodi not ticket out of state cars when they have been in the state for several years living and working?"
OK, obviously this is a thing if Why Guy got two complaints in one week.
Here's the thing — when you move to California and establish residency, you have 10 days to get a new driver license and 20 days to register your vehicle. That means new license plates. There is a penalty for not taking care of your DMV business.
According to DMV, "You will need your title, your out of state registration and possibly a smog check... you will need to make an appointment at one of our field offices if it's your first time."
Now, here's how you can catch the weasels. CHP has a cheaters website. That's what it’s called. All you need to do is submit the out of state license plate online, and the CHP will take it from there.
Truth be told, the state loses millions of dollars a year on people who don't register their vehicles. It could be they didn't pass a smog check or the vehicles are expensive and cheaper to register in another state besides California.
Do you have a Why Guy question? Head over to Walt Gray's Facebook for more.
FREE ABC10 APP:
►Stay In the Know! Sign up now for ABC10's Morning Blend Newsletter