x
Breaking News
More () »

Sacramento's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Sacramento, California | ABC10.com

No face covering or mask? You could be fined in these California cities.

On top of concern over reusable bags and transmission of COVID-19, businesses themselves have started to require face coverings for shoppers as well.

SACRAMENTO, Calif. — With new guidance from the California Department Of Public Health requiring a face mask or covering in all public spaces, some cities and counties in California are going one step further by introducing fines to individuals and businesses that do not comply. 

This is in addition to previous regulation on workers wearing face masks. Now, businesses may start to turn away those who do not have a face covering. 

Nugget Markets, operating within the greater Sacramento metropolitan area and headquartered in Woodland, was one of the first businesses to do just that. All stores will now require customers to wear a face mask or covering in order to shop. 

RELATED: Nugget Markets requiring shoppers to wear face masks | Local coronavirus update

These cities and counties in California require businesses to comply with the mask orders or risk a fine: 

  • Los Angeles County ($100 for the first offense, up to $500 and a 30 day permit suspension for multiple offenses)
  • Contra Costa County ($250 for a business's first violation, $500 for second and $1,000 for third)
  • Irvine (up to $500 per day)
  • Monterey (first violation - $100, second violation - $200, third violation - $500)
  • Marin County (between $250 to $10,000 for businesses)
  • Napa County (between $250 to $10,000 for businesses)
  • Santa Monica ($500 for a business's first violation, $750 for second and $1,000 for third)
  • Yolo County (between $250 to $10,000 for businesses)

These cities and counties in California will fine those not wearing a face covering in public:

  • Compton (the first violation - written warning, second violation - $500, third violation - $750, and fourth violation - $1,000)
  • Beverly Hills (first offense - $100, second offense - $200, third and subsequent offenses - $500)
  • Calabasas ($100 for first violation)
  • Claremont (First-time offenders will be given a warning and offered a face mask. After that, fines would start at $100. People in exempt categories will not be cited.)
  • Contra Costa County ($100 fine for a first violation, $200 for second and $500 for third.)
  • Costa Mesa ($100 fine)
  • Duarte ($100 for first offenses, $200 for second offenses, and $500 for every subsequent violation within a one-year period from the initial offense)
  • Fremont ($100 fine)
  • Glendale ($400 for the first fine, $1,000 for the second fine and $2,000 for the third)
  • Hermosa Beach ($100 for the first violation, $200 for a second violation and $500 for each subsequent violation)
  • Irvine (up to $500 per day)
  • Manhattan Beach ($100 for the first violation, $200 for the second and $350 for subsequent violations)
  • Marin County (between $25 and $500 for individuals)
  • Monterey (first violation - $100) 
  • Napa County (between $25 and $500 for individuals)
  • Salinas ($100 for first violation, $500 for second and $1,000 for subsequent violations)
  • Santa Monica ($100 fine for an individual's first violation, $250 for second and $500 for third)
  • West Hollywood ($300 for first violation)
  • Yolo County (between $25 and $500 for individuals)

RELATED: Here are the policies local grocery stores have implemented when it comes to reusable shopping bags

"Face covering" can seem like a broad term. If you're wondering what alternatives are available if you don't have a medical mask, the CDC offers guidelines on what a face-covering should look like. 

Cloth face coverings should —

  • fit snugly but comfortably against the side of the face
  • be secured with ties or ear loops
  • include multiple layers of fabric
  • allow for breathing without restriction
  • be able to be laundered and machine dried without damage or change to shape

You can find sew and no sew instructions from the CDC here.

FOR THE LATEST CORONAVIRUS NEWS,
DOWNLOAD THE ABC10 APP:

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

►Stay In the Know! Sign up now for ABC10's Daily Blend Newsletter

WATCH MORE: No matter what you smoke (or vape) the coronavirus pandemic is the perfect time to quit, doctor says