Breaking News
More () »

Maya Angelou, RuPaul among California Hall of Fame class

The class will be inducted during a ceremony on Dec. 10.

SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Author Maya Angelou and performer RuPaul are among the inductees for the next class of California Hall of Fame.

Gov. Gavin Newsom and his wife Jennifer Siebel Newsom announced the inductees on Wednesday.

The class includes soccer player and two-time World Cup champion Brandi Chastain, skateboarder and entrepreneur Tony Hawk, actor and comedian George Lopez, chef and restaurateur Wolfgang Puck, astrophysicist France A. Córdova, author Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, civil rights leader James M. Lawson Jr. and winemaker Helen M. Turley.


The class will be inducted during a ceremony on December 10, though Angelou died in 2014.

The California Hall of Fame started in 2006 and inductees are selected each year by the governor and first partner.

Newsom is a Democrat and says the inductees “embody California’s innovative spirit.”


Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Stay In the Know! Sign up now for ABC10's Daily Blend Newsletter

WATCH ALSO: Sacramento City Council approves $27-million investment for new Major League Soccer stadium

We break down what this decision means for the Downtown Sacramento Railyards project, MLS stadium, and how it will affect you. 

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out